IUGG Commissions


IUGG Commissions (2019-2023) 

Climatic and Environmental Changes (CCEC)

Chair: Jiangping Li (China)

Secretary: Tonie van Dam (Luxembourg)

IAPSO representative: Harry Bryden (UK)

Scope: http://www.iugg.org/about/commissions/ccec.php

Website: http://ccec-iugg.org/

Mathematical Geophysics (CMG)

Chair: Alik Ismail-Zadeh (Germany/Russia)

Secretary: Ilya Zaliapin (USA)

IAPSO representative: William Dewar (USA)

Scope: http://www.iugg.org/about/commissions/cmg.php

Geophysical Risk and Sustainability (GRC)

Chair: John LaBrecque (USA)

Secretary: Katia Kontar (USA)

IAPSO representatives: Christa von Hillebrandt-Andrade (USA and Puerto Rico)

Scope: http://www.iugg.org/about/commissions/georisk.php

Website: www.iugg-georisk.org

Data and Information (UCDI)

Chair/IAPSO representative: Sateesh Shenoi (India, IAPSO)

Secretary: Anatoly Soloviev (Russia)

Scope: http://www.iugg.org/about/commissions/ucdi.php

Website: http://www.iugg-ucdi.org/UCDI/Home.html



To promote the study of the oceans and the interactions that take place at its boundaries with the sea floor, coastal environment and atmosphere, through the use of physics, chemistry, mathematics and biogeochemisty.


IAPSO gives importance to involving scientists and students from developing countries in oceanographic activities.


  • Biennial scientific assemblies
  • Working groups
  • Committees, commissions and services
  • Website information

© Copyright © 2022 IAPSO. All Rights Reserved.

We use cookies
This website uses only technical cookies to ensure optimal navigation. See the cookie policy for more information.