No. 09 - 2011-02-03: Next IUGG General Assembly, Prince Albert I Memorial Lecture, and nominations for IAPSO EC

No. 09 - 2011-02-03: Next IUGG General Assembly, Prince Albert I Memorial Lecture, and nominations for IAPSO EC
iapso logo 03 650x100


Written by LAWRENCE A. MYSAK, President IAPSO
OPEN LETTER No. 9 • February 3, 2011


Next IUGG General Assembly,
Prince Albert I Memorial Lecture, and nominations for IAPSO EC


Dear IAPSO Colleagues:

The next IUGG General Assembly (GA) in Melbourne is fast approaching, and already there are approximately 5000 abstracts submitted.  Fortunately, the deadline for abstracts has just been extended until February 7, 2011, and thus there is still time to submit your abstract if you have not already done so.  There is still room for more papers in the IAPSO symposia -- so please do not delay any further with your submissions.

For IAPSO delegates, one of the highlights at the GA will be the presentation of the IAPSO Prince Albert I Medal to Dr. Trevor McDougall FAA, CSIRO, Hobart Australia, for "his outstanding work on fundamental problems of ocean fluid dynamics over the full range of ocean scales and the thermodynamic properties of seawater".  After the Medal presentation at 10.30, July 1, 2011, Dr. McDougall will deliver the Prince Albert I Memorial Lecture, entitled:

"Detecting signatures of ocean mixing - the forensic science aspect of ocean mixing".

I hope many of you will be able to attend this most interesting lecture.

Lastly, I encourage all national correspondents to consider making nominations for the open positions on the IAPSO Executive Committee (EC), which will be filled by election at the GA.  The only positions that continue on automatically from the last four-year term (2007-7011) are those of the Past President, the Secretary General and the Treasurer.  The latter two positions were filled at the last GA in Perugia  (July 2007) by Drs. Rodhe and Camfield respectively, who were elected for two four-year terms.  The nominations should be sent to SG Johan Rodhe, no later than the end of March. You will recall that he sent you a call for such nominations on November 29, 2010. The submitted nominations will then be considered by the Nominations Committee, which is chaired by Past President Shiro Imawaki. Following the deliberations of the Committee, he will then present, for election, the new slate for the EC at the next General Business Meeting of IAPSO, scheduled for 08.30, July 1, 2011.

In closing, I would like to thank SG Johan Rodhe for his considerable efforts in helping to organize and coordinate the symposia that IAPSO is involved in at the GA.  Also, I appreciate the work that has been done and will continue to be done by the conveners of the IAPSO symposia and other jointly sponsored symposia.

I look forward to seeing as many of you as possible in Melbourne.

Lawrence A. Mysak
President, IAPSO
Canada Steamship Lines Emeritus Professor
Dept. of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
McGill University
805 Sherbrooke St. W.
Montreal, QC  H3A 2K6
Tel:  514-398-3768    FAX:  514-398-6115

Participate in IAPSO and related activities at
the 25th IUGG General Assembly in Melbourne, Australia,
June 27-July 8, 2011:


| Unsubscribe | {modify}Change your subscription{/modify} |

Email built with AcyMailing